Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Intercontinental Championship, Pt. 3

« Prev
1 of 69
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Intercontinental Championship, Pt. 3

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the WWE Intercontinental Championship!

The title was established in September 1979, but before that was the WWF North American Heavyweight Championship. Established just seven months beforehand, the North American title is seen as the predecessor to the Intercontinental title.

The North American Heavyweight Championship was unified with the South American Heavyweight Championship to create the Intercontinental Championship, but some believe there was no unification and that it was just said to explain the introduction of the new title.

WWE doesn’t recognize the two titles as the same, and they’re most likely not. Since the belt is a predecessor to the Intercontinental title, and it was “unified” with another to create it, I included its brief existence.

On May 6, 2002, the title would be renamed the WWE Intercontinental Championship due to the issues over the initials “WWF” with the World Wildlife Fund, and it would be briefly abandoned in October when it was unified with the World Heavyweight Championship.

The title would return seven months later and has been active ever since.

In part one of the title, the champions of the 1980s were presented! The 1980s saw 16 champions hold the belt, but in the part two, which was the champions of the 1990s, the Intercontinental Championship saw 43 title holders!

For part three of the title, the 67 title holders of the 2000s will be presented!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.