Abandoned: The History of the WCW International Heavyweight Championship

« Prev
1 of 10
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WCW International Heavyweight Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on these forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this edition of Abandoned I present the WCW International Heavyweight Championship.

The title was established in July 1993 as a World Championship when World Championship Wrestling started to withdraw from the National Wrestling Alliance.

Two months later when the withdrawal was complete, the title was named the International Championship and the Big Gold Belt was used.

The title would be abandoned two years later after having seen eight champions.

This title technically has lineage with the original World Heavyweight Championship from 1905, which became the NWA World Heavyweight Championship in 1948.

That lineage will not be included here as they will be a part of another series when I’m finished up with this one.

Let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.