Abandoned: The History of the ECW World Tag Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 54
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the ECW World Tag Team Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short they’ll be at the end of another title.

As voted by the readers, for this edition of Abandoned I present the ECW World Tag Team Championship.

The titles were created for an affiliate of the National Wrestling Alliance called Eastern Championship Wrestling in 1992.

In 1994, when ECW became Extreme Championship Wrestling after withdrawing from the NWA, the titles were renamed as such.

The titles were abandoned in 2001, when the company went bankrupt and was bought by Vince McMahon.

With the success of the WWE-produced ECW One Night Stand pay-per-views, WWE reinstated the ECW World Heavyweight Championship. Unfortunately, the tag titles were never brought back.

Throughout its nine-year history, the titles have seen 51 champions. So let’s get started.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.