Abandoned: The History of the WWF International Heavyweight Championship

« Prev
1 of 9
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WWF International Heavyweight Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWF/E there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length. Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short they’ll be at the end of another title.

For the seventh edition of Abandoned I present the WWF International Heavyweight Championship.

The title was created in 1948 as a title for the Capitol Wrestling Corporation. It disappeared in the early 1960s but resurfaced in 1982 as a joint venture between WWF and New Japan Pro Wrestling.

The title mostly appeared in Japan at this point and was abandoned in 1985.

In its almost 20 years of existence, the title saw seven champions.

So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.