Abandoned: The History of the WWE Women's Championship

« Prev
1 of 84
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WWE Women's Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships. Many in the National Wrestling Alliance still exist and have been defended for decades upon decades.

In WWF/E, though, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another. The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles. Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, and if there were any special circumstances that happened during their reign.

At times multiple belts will be featured into one article due to their short history. Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two, depending on the length.

For the first edition of Abandoned, I present the WWE Women’s Championship.

WWE has us believe that the history of the title begins in 1956, with The Fabulous Moolah. They don’t recognize title changes that happened between then and 1983 because the title hadn’t become property of the WWF until then.

WWE does not recognize the titles rich history with its lineage to the NWA Women’s Championship, which in turn has lineage to the original Women’s World Championship.

If you do the research, the WWE Women’s Title technically dates back to the 1890s, and that’s where I begin.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.