Abandoned: The History of the ECW Television Championship

« Prev
1 of 34
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the ECW Television Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWF/WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length. Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short, they’ll be at the end of another title.

For this edition of Abandoned, I present the ECW World Television Championship.

It first appeared in 1992 as a part of an NWA territory known as Eastern Championship Wrestling.

It has seen a few wrestling legends and Hall of Famers hold the title, while some used their time as champion and in ECW to vault to bigger and better things, whether it be in WCW or WWF/WWE.

The company became extreme in 1994 and was shut down in 2001 when Vince McMahon bought the company.

The title may have only been around for nine years, but it has been held by many notable wrestlers.

So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.