Abandoned: The History of the ECW World Heavyweight Championship

« Prev
1 of 54
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the ECW World Heavyweight Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWF/E, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length. Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short, they’ll be at the end of another title.

For this edition of "Abandoned," I present the ECW World Heavyweight Championship.

The title was created for an affiliate of the National Wrestling Alliance called Eastern Championship Wrestling in 1992.

In 1994, it became the title of extreme when ECW became Extreme Championship Wrestling after withdrawing from the NWA.

The title was abandoned in 2001 when the company went bankrupt and was bought by Vince McMahon.

Unlike most abandoned titles, this one was revived in 2006 after the success of the ECW One Night Stand pay-per-views.

The ECW brand was scrapped in 2010 and the title was once again abandoned.

Throughout its 18-year history, the title has seen 51 champions. So let’s get started.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.