Abandoned: The History of the WWE Cruiserweight Championship

« Prev
1 of 85
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WWE Cruiserweight Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWF/E there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign, and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length. Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short they’ll be at the end of another title.

As voted by the readers, for this edition of Abandoned I present the WWE Cruiserweight Championship.

The title first appeared in 1991 in WCW. At the time it was known as the WCW Light Heavyweight Championship.

After the title was abandoned a year later it returned in 1996 as the WCW Cruiserweight Championship with a new belt design.

It was defended regularly on WCW television and pay-per-view until Vince McMahon bought the company.

In 2001 the title became exclusive to the WWF/E. It was renamed as such and another new belt design was introduced.

Throughout its 17-year existence the title has seen 82 champions.

So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.