Abandoned: The History of the WCW Six-Man Tag Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WCW Six-Man Tag Team Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this edition of Abandoned, I present the WCW World Six-Man Tag Team Championship.

The original NWA World Six-Man Tag Team Championship appeared in 1974 in the Tennessee territories.

After being abandoned in 1981, the belts were revived by Jim Crockett Promotions in 1984.

Champions from 1974 to 1981 will not be recognized, as JCP is the only NWA territory to recognize the titles that would become WCW.

The titles were primarily used as something to do for the main singles stars between their reigns with singles titles.

The titles were abandoned in 1991 for unknown reasons.

Throughout its seven-year history, the titles have seen 11 champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.