Abandoned: The History of the Million-Dollar Wrestling Championship

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the Million-Dollar Wrestling Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this Christmas edition of Abandoned, I present the Million Dollar Championship.

The title was created in 1989 by the “Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase due to his failure to win the WWF World Championship.

The title was abandoned three times throughout its history in 1992, 1996 and 2010.

There have been 11 people to hold the title, though four of them stole it while one was handed the title before its third abandonment.

Out of the 11 champions, only five of them were official holders of the title. So let’s get started.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.