Abandoned: The History of the WWF Women's Tag Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 27
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WWF Women's Tag Team Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this New Year’s Day edition of Abandoned, I present the WWF Women’s Tag Team Championship.

The titles first appeared in the early 1950s, but unfortunately quite a bit is missing from its history.

The records for this title are incomplete, so I did the best I could with it.

The titles remained in the National Wrestling Alliance until the World Wrestling Federation withdrew from the territorial promotion in 1984.

At the time, the WWF bought the rights to the titles and they became official WWF titles.

They only lasted four years in the company, though.

Throughout its almost 40 year history, the titles have seen at least 25 champions.

Due to the incomplete history, it’s hard to tell what the exact number is, though.

So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.