Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Championship

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title—but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see.

That’s right, if there is a championship you would like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the TNA Knockouts Tag Team Championship.

The creation of the titles was announced in late August 2009 in a backstage segment. The tournament included eight teams and began the following week.

The first round saw the teams of Awesome Kong and Raisha Saeed, Taylor Wilde and Sarita, the Beautiful People and Christy Hemme and Tara advance to the semifinals.

The finals were then determined with Wilde and Sarita and the Beautiful People advanced, and the match was setup for No Surrender.

Throughout the title's two-and-a-half year history, it has seen nine champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.