Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA Knockouts Championship

« Prev
1 of 27
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA Knockouts Championship

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right, if there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the TNA Knockouts Championship.

Even though they’ve been around for a decade, TNA Wrestling never had an actual women’s division until the fall of 2007.

Before that, the women in TNA competed for Miss TNA in 2002, which was won by Taylor Vaughn, Bruce and April Pennington before it was dropped. The company also had an award for Babe of the Year that was given from 2003-2007.

It was in September 2007, though, TNA announced that they would be creating a women’s division and title. A month later at Bound for Glory, a gauntlet match was held to crown the first women’s champion.

Soon called the Knockouts title, the women of TNA weren’t just eye candy rolling around; they were wrestlers competing for gold.

Despite being called the TNA Knockouts Championship, the word “Knockout” does not appear on the belt.

Throughout the titles almost five year history it has seen 25 champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.