Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Divas Championship

« Prev
1 of 20
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Divas Championship

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA world and tag-team championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

This series of articles will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA world and tag team championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right, if there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For the first edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the WWE Divas Championship.

When the brand extension first happened, the WWE Women’s Championship was a title that appeared on both Raw and SmackDown. The title would soon become exclusive to the Raw brand, though, which left the women of SmackDown without a title to fight for.

On occasion, a SmackDown Diva did compete for the title, but it remained on Monday nights.

In 2008, general manager Vickie Guerrero announced that a new title would be created for the women of the blue brand. The WWE Divas Championship was created and became SmackDown’s exclusive women’s title.

The title became exclusive to Raw in 2009 while the women’s title was sent to SmackDown.

In 2010, the two titles were unified. While the WWE Women’s Championship was abandoned, the Divas Championship remained and now appears on both Raw and SmackDown.

Throughout the title's four-year history, it has seen 18 champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.