Abandoned: The History of WWE's World Tag Team Championship, Pt. 3

« Prev
1 of 54
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of WWE's World Tag Team Championship, Pt. 3

For this edition of Abandoned, I present WWE’s World Tag Team Championship.

Some say the title is made up of three different belts. Arguments can be made for both sides whether it does or not, but I put them together anyway.

The first major tag-team titles for the WWE were the Northeast versions of the NWA United States Tag Team Championship.

They were established in 1956 when the WWE was Capitol Wrestling Corporation and a member of the National Wrestling Alliance.

When CWC withdrew from the NWA in 1963, the company became known as the World Wide Wrestling Federation, and the titles were renamed as such.

The titles were abandoned in 1967 when one of the champions gave up his half of the titles.

The titles were then replaced by the WWWF International Tag Team Championship in 1969. While the WWWF World Tag Team Championship was created in 1971, the international tag belts continued on for a bit.

When the company became WWF in the 1980s, the titles were renamed as such.

They became the WWE Tag Team Championship in 2001 when the company went under another change and in 2002, were renamed the World Tag Team Championship when the belts became exclusive to the Raw brand.

In 2010, the titles were unified with SmackDown’s tag-team titles and since WWE follows the history of the SmackDown titles, the World Tag Team Championship side of the belts was abandoned after 54 years of history.

Throughout those 54 years, the titles have seen over 200 champions.

In part 1 you got to see the first 51 champions and in part 2 you saw another 54 champions!

In part 3, you’ll be seeing the next 52 champions featured!

So let’s get started.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.