Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA X-Division Championship

« Prev
1 of 56
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the TNA X-Division Championship

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World, Tag Team Championships, and its own X-Division title. Today, TNA owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right.

If there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.


TNA X-Division Championship

The TNA X-Division Championship was established on June 19, 2002 during TNA Wrestling's second show. At first it was just known as the NWA X Championship but later became known as the NWA-TNA X-Division Championship due to TNA's affiliation with the National Wrestling Alliance.

As the main title of the X-Division, its motto was, "It's not about weight limits, it's about no limits."

Mixing traditional wrestling with high-flying maneuvers and Lucha Libre-style wrestling, X-Division matches were some of the most exciting matches to watch. It was the X-Division that helped get TNA noticed by fans due to its similarity with WCW's old cruiserweight division.

The weight limit part of the motto was never really tested until Samoa Joe made his debut with TNA and won the title a total of four times. Though, the heaviest wrestler to hold the belt was Abyss at 350 pounds.

The title became known as simply the TNA X-Division Championship when a new title was introduced after TNA left the NWA in 2004. After Destination X 2011, a weight limit was introduced into the division for the first time. At 225 pounds, wrestlers beyond that weight were no longer allowed to compete for the title and the motto was gone.

Samoa Joe would have fought for the title at this past June's Slammiversary, however his appearance was later chalked up as a one-time exhibition for TNA's 10th anniversary show.

The division has seen a number of specialty matches including the Ultimate X match, an annual event. Others include the Steel Asylum and the Xscape Match, but both of those matches are rarely used anymore.

The X match title is the oldest in TNA Wrestling. It's appeared since the company's second show and has accumulated 54 champions over its 10-year history. So let's get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.