Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE World Tag-Team Championship

« Prev
1 of 46
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE World  Tag-Team Championship

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right, if there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the WWE Tag-Team Championship.

When the brand extension first happened in March 2002, the WWE World Tag-Team Championship appeared on both brands. In October 2002, though, the titles became exclusive to Monday Night Raw, which left the tag teams of SmackDown without a belt to fight for.

SmackDown general manager Stephanie McMahon then announced the creation of new tag titles to be exclusive to her show.

The titles remained that way for five years until the creation of the ECW brand. SmackDown and ECW announced a talent exchange so that the titles were now able to appear on ECW.

At WrestleMania XXV, the titles were put in a unification match with Raw’s World Tag-Team Championship, with the winners carrying both titles as the Unified WWE Tag-Team Championship.

“Unified” was dropped in August when new titles were created and the world tag-title side of the belts were abandoned.

Throughout this titles almost 10-year history, it has seen 44 champions. So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.