Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE United States Championship, Pt. 1

« Prev
1 of 67
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE United States Championship, Pt. 1

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right, if there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For this edition of Wrestling Gold, I present the WWE United States Championship!

The title was established in 1975 as the exclusive NWA United States Heavyweight Championship of the Mid-Atlantic territories, more specifically Jim Crockett Promotions. At the time, the NWA didn’t recognize a sole champion due to every region having their own United States title.

In January 1981, the title became the undisputed NWA United States Championship when the last remaining territory to recognize their own shut down.

Ted Turner then bought JCP and WCW in 1988, and when WCW officially withdrew from the NWA, they took the title with them. The title was then renamed to the WCW United States Championship as a result.

The belt remained as WCW’s secondary title until the company was shut down in March 2001. The title then appeared on WWF television during the Invasion angle, but it was unified with the Intercontinental Championship in November.

The WCW United States Championship was abandoned due to the unification.

In July 2003, WWF, now WWE, reinstated the title and renamed it the WWE United States Championship. The title was exclusive to the SmackDown at first but has jumped around both Raw and SmackDown due to the annual draft.

Since the brand extension is all but over, the United States title now appears on both shows.

Throughout the title’s 37-year history, it has seen 131 champions. In part one, the first 65 will be featured. Let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.