Abandoned: The History of the WCW Television Championship, Pt. 1

« Prev
1 of 55
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WCW Television Championship, Pt. 1

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWE, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length.

For this edition of Abandoned I present part one of the WCW World Television Championship.

The title was established in 1974 as the NWA Mid-Atlantic Television Championship under Georgia Championship Wrestling, an affiliate of the National Wrestling Alliance.

The title also appeared in GCW’s fellow Mid-Atlantic territory Jim Crocket Promotions.

After GCW was bought and shut down by Vince McMahon and the WWF, the title stayed with JCP.

When JCP became WCW, the title was renamed as such.

After 26 years of history, the WCW Television Championship would be abandoned in 2000 when WCW was “rebooted.”

Throughout its history the title has seen 107 champions, 53 of which will be featured in this Part 1.

So let’s get started!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.