Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Intercontinental Championship, Pt. 1

« Prev
1 of 18
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling Gold: The History of the WWE Intercontinental Championship, Pt. 1
copyright to davemillicanbelts.com

Throughout the history of professional wrestling, the business has awarded championship belts in many divisions. While some have been forgotten over the years, some titles have stood the test of time.

The WWE has seen almost 30 titles defended, but today only six remain.

TNA Wrestling began with three titles—the NWA World and Tag Team Championships as well its own X-Division title, but today it owns its own belts and fans see six titles defended between its ropes.

Ring of Honor Wrestling began with just two, but has since added another title to its ranks.

While Shimmer has only been around for a few years, the most well-known all-women’s wrestling promotion currently holds two titles.

Wrestling Gold will concentrate on the active titles of the companies listed, as well as the NWA World and Tag Team Championships, and any other active title the readers would like to see!

That’s right, if there’s a championship you’d like to see included, it will be added to the series.

For the return of Wrestling Gold, I present part one of the WWE Intercontinental Championship!

The title was established in September 1979, but before that was the WWF North American Heavyweight Championship. Established just seven months beforehand, the North American title is seen as the predecessor to the Intercontinental title.

The North American Heavyweight Championship was unified with the South American Heavyweight Championship to create the Intercontinental Championship, but some believe there was no unification and that it was just said to explain the introduction of the new title.

WWE doesn’t recognize the two titles as the same, and they’re most likely not. Since the belt is a predecessor to the Intercontinental title, and it was “unified” with another to create it, I included its brief existence.

On May 6, 2002 the title would be renamed the WWE Intercontinental Championship due to the issues over the initials “WWF” with the World Wildlife Fund, and it would be briefly abandoned in October when it was unified with the World Heavyweight Championship.

The title would return seven months later and has been active ever since.

For Part 1 of the title, the champions of the 1980s will be presented, which is the first 16 champions. So let’s get started!

On a side note, I apologize for the three-month gap between editions. Due to my schedule, I didn’t have the time to complete any. I promise that there won’t be a gap like that between editions again!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.