Abandoned: The History of the WWWF USA Heavyweight Championship

« Prev
1 of 16
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Abandoned: The History of the WWWF USA Heavyweight Championship

Throughout history, professional wrestling has seen many championships.

In WWF/E, there are six major titles. Not many know that the company has had a total of at least 19 different titles, 13 of which have been abandoned for one reason or another.

The other two major companies owned by WWE are WCW and ECW, which have at least 15 abandoned and forgotten titles between them.

For as long as it takes, I will be concentrating on those forgotten titles.

Each slide will feature the champion, who they defeated, where and when they won it, the length of their title reign, any special circumstances that happened during their reign and a bit of commentary.

Belts with a lengthy history will get their own articles and may be broken up into two depending on the length. Titles with a short history may be featured in a standard article, but if they’re really short, they’ll be at the end of another title. 

For this final edition of Abandoned, I present the WWWF U.S.A. Heavyweight Championship.

The title was established in 1963 as the company’s secondary singles title. Not much is known about the title, though, as WWE doesn’t even recognize that the title existed. 

The current WWE United States Championship has no lineage to this title, as it shares its history with the NWA/WCW United States Championship.

The U.S.A. title would be abandoned in 1976 when it was replaced by the WWF North American Heavyweight Championship, which some say later became the WWE Intercontinental Championship.

Throughout its 13-year history, the title saw 13 champions.

So, let’s get started.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.