Josh Shelby Hype: A Hollywood Start for Kansas Jayhawks' Freshman

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Josh Shelby Hype: A Hollywood Start for Kansas Jayhawks' Freshman
Jamie Squire/Getty Images

No Hollywood production team could have envisioned the show Josh Selby and his teammates provided for an earsplitting standing-room only audience at Allen Field House and an ESPN global television ratings bonanza tuned in to see the most hyped NCAA eligibility review recipient perform in many Yuletide seasons.

The beloved Jayhawks squeaked out a 70 - 68 over the USC Trojans, as Selby, the new kid on the block on Naismith Drive hit the winning 25 foot shot that almost shattered the windows in Allen Field House.

Selby scored a team-leading 21 points (5 - 8   3pt  /  5 - 11   FG overall; 6 - 7  FT) and stage fright does not appear in any part of his first Showtime performance. 

Coach Bill Self and his staff have the parts and schedule in place for a really theatrical season...The "Final Act" is Monday evening, April 4, 2011 at Reliant Stadium, Houston, TX. 

Kansas' typical balanced scoring performance:  Marcus Morris  11 points; Markieff Morris  11 points; Thomas Robinson  10 points; Tyshawn Taylor  7 points; Brady Morningstar  5 points; Tyrel Reed  4 points; Travis Releford  1 point.  USC scoring:  Donte Smith  20 points; Alex Stephenson  18 points; Jio Fontan  15 points; Nikola Vucevic  13 points; Maurice Jones  2 points

Kansas outrebounded USC  38 - 29; Both teams credited with 12 assists, respectively.

Kansas visits the California Golden Bears in Berkeley, Wednesday evening (FSN / 11:00pm EST; 10:00pm CST; 9:00pm MST; 8:00pm PST) which will be the first road game of the season for the # 3  ranked Jayhawks.  KU has played "neutral court" games vs. Ohio and Arizona in Las Vegas; Memphis at Madison Square Garden and Colorado State at Sprint Center in Kansas City, MO.  Look for the Bears to give KU a battle.  A road win in Berkeley is definitely a "quality win". 

 

 

 

Load More Stories

Follow Kansas Jayhawks Basketball from B/R on Facebook

Follow Kansas Jayhawks Basketball from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Kansas Jayhawks Basketball

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.