Pac-10 Hoops Preview: Dana Altman Takes on Coaching Challenge for Oregon Ducks

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Pac-10 Hoops Preview: Dana Altman Takes on Coaching Challenge for Oregon Ducks
Chris Graythen/Getty Images
Dana Altman

2009-10 Record: Oregon (16-16; 7-11 Pac-10) Returns 1 Starter

HEAD COACH: Dana Altman, first year at Oregon (410-243 career)

PROBABLE STARTING LINEUP: PG Malcolm Armstead, SG Teondre Williams, SF E.J. Singler, PF Jeremy Jacob, PF Joevan Catron.

Two very bright spots for the Oregon Men’s Basketball program are 1) the arrival of Dana Altman (winner of over 400 college games) as Head Coach, and 2) the opening of the new Matthew Knight Arena (The projected construction cost of $200 million will make it the most expensive on campus basketball arena in the United States). In most cases, these would inject a high level of interest and enthusiasm leading towards the upcoming season. However, even these significant events can’t compensate for the bleak conditions of the Ducks hoops program.

For the last 16 years, Altman has successfully led the Creighton University program—making it 13 straight times to post-season play. But, Altman is not in Omaha and the Missouri Valley Conference any more. He has a major rebuilding job to undertake as he assumes the head coaching position at Oregon.  

TaJuan Porter—the team's top scorer a year ago—is gone. Five players (Matt Humphrey, Jamil Wilson, Josh Crittle, Drew Wiley and Michael Dunigan) from last year's team have defected.

Malcolm Armstead (PG—10.3 ppg) is the best returning player. Forward E.J. Singler (6.1 ppg) and guard Teondre Williams (6.4) also have experience. Because Altman and his staff pulled off some recruiting magic, some of the newcomers (Jay-R Strowbridge, Tyrone Nared, Johnathan Loyd, and Martin Seiferth) could contribute from Day 1.

Realistictly, this will be a challenging season for the Ducks, the clear pick to finish last in the Pac-10. Hopefully, the Eugene faithful will be so ecstatic about this year's football team that they won't be too critical of Altman and the Ducks as they try to get going again.

 

Sat, Nov 13

Denver

Sun, Nov 14

UCSB

Sat, Nov 20

San Jose St.

Tue, Nov 23

Texas Southern

Sat, Nov 27

(1) Duke

Thu, Dec 2

(15) Missouri

Sun, Dec 5

Portland St.

Sat, Dec 11

Willamette

Mon, Dec 13

Jacksonville St.

Fri, Dec 17

at Virginia

Tue, Dec 21

Idaho

Thu, Dec 30

Arizona

Sat, Jan 1

Arizona St.

Thu, Jan 6

at (18) Washington

Sat, Jan 8

at Washington St.

Thu, Jan 13

USC

Sat, Jan 15

UCLA

Sat, Jan 22

at Oregon St.

Thu, Jan 27

at Stanford

Sat, Jan 29

at California

Thu, Feb 3

Washington St.

Sat, Feb 5

(18) Washington

Thu, Feb 10

at UCLA

Sat, Feb 12

at USC

Sat, Feb 19

Oregon St.

Thu, Feb 24

California

Sat, Feb 26

Stanford

Thu, Mar 3

at Arizona St.

Sat, Mar 5

at Arizona

Load More Stories

Follow Oregon Ducks Basketball from B/R on Facebook

Follow Oregon Ducks Basketball from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Out of Bounds

Oregon Ducks Basketball

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.