2011 NFL: Peyton Manning, Tom Brady and Other Things to Look for

John BaranowskiCorrespondent IMay 31, 2011

INDIANAPOLIS - JANUARY 02: Peyton Manning #18 of the Indianapolis Colts throws a pass during NFL game against the Tennessee Titans at Lucas Oil Stadium on January 2, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images)
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Here are some things to look for in the NFL this year that you may or may not be aware of, so consider this my public service announcement for the National Football League. You’re welcome, Roger. 


Quarterback Ratings

 Peyton Manning's next touchdown pass will be his 400th, joining only Brett Favre and Dan Marino as having thrown 400 touchdown passes.  

Now that Favre has finally retired, Manning can really gain ground on Favre’s career passing records.  Manning has completed 4,682 passes for 54,828 yards and 399 touchdowns.  Favre holds all three of those career marks with 6,300 completed, 71,838 yards and 508 touchdown passes. Manning probably needs five more Manning years, and he’ll own all of those records. 

With eight more wins, Manning will move into second place all-time in wins for a starting quarterback.  Manning has 141 going into the 2011 season and just ahead of him are Dan Marino with 147 and John Elway with 148. Favre stands atop the win list with 186. 

Coincidentally, with eight more wins Tom Brady will move into sixth place all-time for career wins for a quarterback.  Currently Brady has 111 wins and ahead of him on the list is Joe Montana with 117 and Johnny Unitas with 118.  Fran Tarkenton currently ranks fifth in career wins with 124. 

Among the top 50 quarterbacks all-time in games won, only three have a winning percentage of .700 or better. Ben Roethlisberger is 46th in wins with 69 and has a winning percentage of .704. Roger Staubach is 28th in wins with 85 and has a winning percentage of .746. The leader by far in winning percentage is Brady with a record of 111-32 for a winning percentage of .776.


Some hard-to-believe Super Bowl facts

It’s been 37 years since the Miami Dolphins have won a Super Bowl, the last one being Super Bowl VIII against the Minnesota Vikings 24-7 on January 13, 1974.

The Dolphins have not appeared in a Super Bowl in 26 years, their last appearance being a loss to the San Francisco 49ers 38-16 in Super Bowl XIX on January 20, 1985.

The Minnesota Vikings haven’t appeared in a Super Bowl in 34 years when they lost to the Oakland Raiders 32-14 in Super Bowl XI on January 9, 1977.

The Oakland Raiders haven’t won a Super Bowl in 27 years. In their last Super Bowl victory, they were the Los Angeles Raiders, defeating the Washington Redskins 38-9 in Super Bowl XVIII on January 22, 1984. 

The Washington Redskins haven’t appeared in a Super Bowl for 19 years since they defeated the Buffalo Bills 37-24 in Super Bowl XXVI on January 26, 1992. 

The two teams of the ‘90s the Dallas Cowboys and the San Francisco 49ers haven’t been back to the Super Bowl since the Cowboys won Super Bowl XXX, defeating the Pittsburgh Steelers 27-17 on January 28, 1996 (a drought of 15 years), and the 49ers when they defeated the San Diego Chargers 49-26 in Super Bowl XXIX on January 29, 1995 (a drought of 16 years).  

Teams that have not won a Super Bowl

AFC:  Buffalo, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Houston, Jacksonville, San Diego, Tennessee 

NFC;  Arizona, Atlanta, Carolina, Detroit, Minnesota, Philadelphia, Seattle

This list will also still be the same at the end of this season.  


Teams that have never made it to the Super Bowl 

AFC:  Cleveland, Houston, Jacksonville

NFC:  Detroit

This list won’t change either. 


And finally, something to make you go hmmmm: 

After every one of his postseason losses, the following year Ben Roethlisberger has led the Steelers to a Super Bowl victory the following season.