Pro Bowl: Denver Broncos' Miller, Clady, Kuper Opt Out of Game with Injuries

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Pro Bowl: Denver Broncos' Miller, Clady, Kuper Opt Out of Game with Injuries
Bart Young/Getty Images

On Monday, the NFL announced that Denver Broncos guard Zane Beadles and wide receiver Demaryius Thomas were added to the AFC's Pro Bowl roster.  Since then, three Broncos have withdrawn from the annual All-Star game.

Denver's star outside linebacker, Von Miller, withdrew with a minor injury that will not affect his 2013 season.  Miller will be replaced by Kansas City Chief Justin Houston, per ESPN.

Broncos guard Chris Kuper was invited to the game as a first alternate but declined because he is scheduled to have surgery to repair what turned out to be another break in his lower left fibula, according to the Denver Post.

Finally, Broncos left tackle Ryan Clady withdrew from the game with a minor shoulder injury, the team announced. Cincinnati Bengals tackle Andrew Whitworth will replace Clady.

In total, the Broncos had eight players invited to Hawaii, but only five—quarterback Peyton Manning, guard Zane Beadles, wide receiver Demaryius Thomas, cornerback Champ Bailey, and defensive end Elvis Dumervil—will be available to participate in the game.

On the night before the first practices for Sunday's Pro Bowl, Manning addressed both the AFC and NFC teams, pleading with the players to make the game competitive again before dropping some zingers, according to's Andy Fenelon.

'"A little announcement here—pool volleyball, Wednesday, 3 p.m. AFC quarterbacks vs. NFC quarterbacks. Each team gets a 'need' player, and I'm in charge of picking this player for both teams. AFC, we get J.J. Watt. The NFC gets Leon Washington," said Manning.

"Watt, of course, led the league this season with 16 pass knockdowns. Washington, the NFC's kick returner, is 5-foot-8—out of water."

The 2013 NFL Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 27 and nationally broadcast on NBC.  Kickoff is scheduled for 7 p.m. ET, and the AFC squad will be coached by Denver's John Fox and the Broncos coaching staff.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.