B/R World Football Writer Of The Year 2008 (Voting)

Barney Corkhill@@BarneyCorkhillSenior Writer IDecember 28, 2008

2008 has seen Bleacher Report grow an enormous amount. Many great writers have joined this past year, and many have left, particularly in the World Football section.

For the past few days, myself, Salaar Shamsi, Andrew McNair, Shyam Parthasarathi and Maire Ofeire have been devising a list of ten finalists for the B/R World Football Writer of the Year award.

Each of those writers losted above were given a shortlist of 25 writers, the top 25 at the time, plus a few who had left earlier on in the year, and were asked to chose their top ten.

These votes were put together to come up with a final ten, all of whom you can vote to be your Writer of the Year!

The votes will be write-in votes rather than those on a poll to ensure credibility and fairness in the voting. Needless to say, you cannot vote for yourself, as if anyone was thinking of doing so!

Here are the top ten, in no particular order:


Alex Dimond

Barney Corkhill

Shyam Parthasarathi

Willie Gannon

Maire Ofeire

Andrew McNair

Salaar Shamsi

Yoosof Farah

Guido Merry

Zahi Sahli


Congratulations to all those nominated, and commiserations to those who missed out. It was very hard to whittle the list down to ten, so don't feel disheartened!

As I said above, you can vote be leaving a comment saying who you think deserves the Writer of the Year award. Take into consideration longevity, consistency, and, of course, quality, when making your decision.

The voting closes at midnight on New Year's Eve, and the winner will be announced on New Year's Day! Good luck to everyone!


Let the voting begin!



Click here to see the Greatest Sporting Moment of 2008!


    Live: Barcelona vs. Girona

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Live: Barcelona vs. Girona

    via AS.com

    Salah Joins Kane as Prem's Leading Goalscorer

    Liverpool logo

    Salah Joins Kane as Prem's Leading Goalscorer

    Gill Clark
    via Bleacher Report

    Emre Can on West Ham Win: 'We Did Our Job'

    Liverpool logo

    Emre Can on West Ham Win: 'We Did Our Job'

    The Liverpool Offside
    via The Liverpool Offside

    Forget Alisson! Karius Continues to Strengthen His Case

    Liverpool logo

    Forget Alisson! Karius Continues to Strengthen His Case

    via Goal