10 Worst Heisman Trophy Winners in NFL History

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
10 Worst Heisman Trophy Winners in NFL History
Chris Trotman/Getty Images

The Heisman trophy is one of the most coveted awards in all of college athletics. It's awarded every year to the best player in college football and although there are numerous biases and shortfalls of the awarding process (only one defensive player, Charles Woodson, has won it since 1949) it is still held in the highest of esteem.

There's ESPN specials, late-night talk show appearances and if you come from a small enough town, even a parade on Main Street.

While the award recognizes the best player in college football, it rarely predicts who will be a good player in the NFL.

In fact, more often than not, Heisman trophy winners are faced with such high expectations that even a decent professional career is overshadowed by TV and radio pundits asking, "What went wrong?"

The latest winner, Cam Newton, surpassed the NFL careers of several Heisman trophy winners in just his first game of the 2011 season. His star looks bright, but recipients of the Heisman trophy are frequently less than average. They are over-hyped by the media looking for one more viewer and given false encouragement by agents seeking a quick buck.

Sadly, Heisman trophy winners turn into professional football losers, and that has been more evident than in the careers of the following athletes.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.