Saints-Colts: First-Time Super Bowl Teams Don't Win Often

Zeke FuhrmanAnalyst IIIJanuary 25, 2010

NEW ORLEANS - JANUARY 24:  Fans of the New Orleans Saints hold up signs in celebration of the Saints 31-28 win against the Minnesota Vikings during the NFC Championship Game at the Louisiana Superdome on January 24, 2010 in New Orleans, Louisiana.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

The New Orleans Saints are the 2009 NFC Champions.

After defeating the Minnesota Vikings 31-28, the Saints are headed to their first Super Bowl in their 42 year history.

As they head to Miami, Saints fans should be warned: Super Bowl virgins usually don't finish first.

Since Super Bowl I in 1966, only seven teams have won their first Super Bowl berth: the Green Bay Packers, New York Jets, Pittsburgh Steelers, San Francisco 49ers, Chicago Bears, New York Giants, and Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The remaining 18 teams lost their first (second...third...fourth...) Super Bowl apperances: Kansas City Chiefs, Oakland Raiders, Baltimore Colts, Minnesota Vikings, Dallas Cowboys, Miami Dolphins, Washington Redskins, Denver Broncos, Los Angeles Rams, Philadelphia Eagles, Cincinnati Bengals, New England Patriots, Buffalo Bills, San Diego Chargers, Tennessee Titans, Carolina Panthers, Seattle Seahawks, and Arizona Cardinals.

Since losing their first Super Bowls, Kansas City, Baltimore, and the Rams franchises have each won a Super Bowl. Denver and Miami have won two, the Raiders have won three, Washington and New England have won three, and Dallas has won five.

The Minnesota Vikings, Philadelphia Eagles, Cincinnati Bengals, Buffalo Bills, San Diego Chargers, Tennessee Titans, Carolina Panthers, Seattle Seahawks, and Arizona Cardinals are still searching for their first.

The Baltimore Colts moved to Indianapolis in 1984. Since then, the Colts franchise won a title in 2006, and the Baltimore Ravens captured their own in 2000.

The Saints hope to be added to the seven teams to win their first Super Bowl berth. Of those teams, only two teams have not been back for more titles: the New York Jets and the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The Saints, who have a record of 275-378-5 since 1967, have had only nine winning seasons in franchise history.