Kirk Ferentz of Iowa Wins Big Ten Coach of the Year

B.Senior Analyst INovember 23, 2009

COLUMBUS, OH - NOVEMBER 14:  Head coach Kirk Ferentz of the Iowa Hawkeyes walks the sidelines during a game against the Ohio State Buckeyes at Ohio Stadium on November 14, 2009 in Columbus, Ohio.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

For the third time in his career, Iowa Hawkeye football coach Kirk Ferentz has been named the Dave McClain Coach of the Year in the Big Ten.

In typical Ferentz fashion, he takes none of the credit.

"All the credit goes to our assistant coaches and most of all to our players," he said in an interview with the Big Ten Network after the award was announced.

Ferentz is only the fourth coach in conference history to be named coach of the year for three seasons. Michigan's Bo Schembechler, Penn State's Joe Paterno, and Iowa's Hayden Fry are the other coaches to achieve the honor on three occasions.

He was also honored as Coach of the Year in 2002 and 2004.

Ferentz ran into a gauntlet of issues this season, from several unfortunate player injuries and illnesses to a brutal road schedule, not to mention an ailing defensive coordinator. 

Yet he still steered his team to a season few thought was possible.

The Hawkeyes started the 2009 season 9-0 for the first time in school history, earning a school-record No. 4 BCS ranking along the way.  

Iowa finished the regular season 10-2, going 6-2 in conference play. The Hawkeyes currently sit at No. 11 in the BCS rankings with two weeks of football to play. 

Ferentz now has four 10-win seasons during his tenure as the Hawkeyes head coach, more than any other coach in the history of the program.

The Hawkeyes now eagerly await their bowl invitation to arrive on Dec. 6. Only time will tell if Ferentz can add another BCS bowl to his already impressive résumé.