Kolkata Knight Riders vs. Delhi Daredevils: Date, Time, Live Stream, TV Info

Mark PattersonUK Staff WriterApril 18, 2014

Kolkata Knight Riders' co owner and Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan, greets the crowd as he celebrates his team's victory in their Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket playoff match against Delhi Daredevils in Pune, India, Tuesday, May 22, 2012. (AP Photo) INDIA OUT

After Kolkata Knight Riders got off to a flying start in the 2014 Indian Premier League, they are hot favourites to topple Delhi Daredevils.

Venue: Dubai International Cricket Stadium

Date: Saturday, 19 April

Start time: 3:30 p.m. BST/6:30 p.m. local time

Live on: Sony Six, Star Sports HD, Star Sports 1 (India), ITV4 (United Kingdom), SuperSport (South Africa), OSN (UAE) SkyTV (New Zealand), Network Ten (Australia), Channel 9 (Bangladesh), Sportsnet and Omni(Canada), Sports Max (West Indies), Geo Super (Pakistan), Starhub(Singapore).

Weather: The weather will be typically hot, according to Accuweather. Temperatures of up to 37 degrees Celsius during the day will have eased off, but a balmy night will still be expected in the United Arab Emirates.



After one round of games, the Kolkata Knight Riders have an early claim to the top spot after the most convincing opening victory. 

There's little reason, on the evidence of the opening matches, to assume they won't end the day in the same position.

Delhi Daredevils, shorn of captain Kevin Pietersen with a finger injury, looked short on firepower and were easily beaten by the Royal Challengers Bangalore. The IPL's official site suggest he will be unlikely to recover in time for this clash.

The pressure on JP Duminy and Ross Taylor, the Daredevils' two other key overseas batsmen, will ramp up.

@Moffet01: @kp24 but you'll be playing rest of the matches right?” I'll be back ASAP. Not risking it in first game

— Kevin Pietersen (@KP24) April 17, 2014

The Knight Riders may face a change of their own: India all-rounder Yusuf Pathan flew home shortly after the opening game for the birth of his son. He may well sit out Sunday's encounter. If he does, Kokata could look to accommodate an overseas all-rounder such as Andre Russell or Ryan ten Doeschate to fill in, but that will require some rejigging of the rest of the line-up.

The #Knights are getting ready for the big battle tomorrow. For now they are beating the heat in the practice session pic.twitter.com/kKKas9o56B

— Kol Knight Riders (@KKRiders) April 18, 2014

Twenty20 often throws up a surprise result—but there's little reason at present to predict anything other than a comfortable victory for KKR.


Key players

Kolkata Knight Riders

Jacques Kallis has reinvented himself as a T20 player in recent times. His 72 in the curtain-raiser was pacy and aggressive, and it belied the fact that he has scarcely played any cricket in 2014 after his Test retirement. The 38-year-old has laid down an early marker that he could be one of the players of the tournament.


Delhi Daredevils

Murali Vijay disappointed in the Daredevils' opener, and as the most experienced Indian batsman in the line-up, he can ill afford his form to remain scratchy. He is a fine player in full flow, and in Pietersen's absence needs to set the tone for his team.



Kolkata Knight Riders

Gautam Gambhir, Manvinder Bisla, Piyush Chawla, Debabrata Das, Kuldeep Yadav, Sayan Mondal, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Veer Pratap Singh, Robin Uthappa, Vinay Kumar, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jacques Kallis, Pat Cummins, Chris Lynn, Morne Morkel, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Shakib Al Hasan, Ryan Ten Doeschate


Delhi Daredevils

Mayank Agarwal, Dinesh Karthik, Milind Kumar, Kedar Jadhav, Manoj Tiwary, Saurabh Tiwary, Murali Vijay, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Jayant Yadav, Siddharth Kaul, Shahbaz Nadeem, Mohammed Shami, Rahul Sharma, HS Sharaf, Rahul Shukla, Jaidev Unadkat, JP Duminy, Quinton de Kock, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Jimmy Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Wayne Parnell