B/R World Football Writer Of The Year 2008 (Results)

Barney CorkhillSenior Writer IJanuary 1, 2009

Ladies and Gentlemen, the results are in and the winner is about to be announced!

Over the past few days, people have been given the chance to vote in what is, by far and away, the most important vote of 2008. Are you reading Obama? This really matters!

The voters were asked to choose their writer of the year from a shortlist of ten provided by the top five writers in the World Football Writer Rankings.


So, without further ado, lets look at the top three in reverse order!


3. Andrew McNair (5 votes) - 284 articles, three Articles of the Day

One of very few writers to have been here for the entire year, Andrew has played a major part in making the section what it is today. He has spent most of the year as the co-community leader, and has obviously been leading by example.


2. Barney Corkhill (6 votes) - 280 articles, two Articles of the Day

I must say when I wrote the awards piece, I was not expecting to come anyway near the top, so to come second is a massive surprise, and one I am very thankful to everyone who voted for me for.


1. Alex Dimond (7 votes) - 78 articles, three Articles of the Day

There you have it folks, your Writer of the Year! Alex Dimond is not only a great writer, but also a great editor for the section. He may not write as many articles as others, but when he does produce, he does so with the highest quality. A worthy winner!


So congratulations to Alex Dimond, you are officially the Bleacher Report World Football Writer of the Year 2008!


Lets hope for an equally good 2009!