Stewart Becomes 22nd Different Winner at New Hampshire

Samuel SicaAnalyst IJune 28, 2008

The Nationwide Series drivers took to the track in New Hampshire to compete in the Camping World RV Sales 200 Saturday afternoon.

Out of the 21 different races run at New Hampshire, there have been 21 different winners.

Landon Cassill was the fastest car in qualifying and should have started from the pole position, but his crew changed the engine during practice forcing them to start at the rear of the field.

This allowed Greg Biffle to inherit the pole with Clint Bowyer starting along side in the second position.

The race would go green, but quickly slowed as the caution flag flew for the first time on the second lap of the race for a spin by Brad Coleman coming off turn two.

The race would be restarted a few laps later with Bowyer leading the field.

Bowyer’s lead would be short lived though as Kyle Busch passed him on lap 10.

Busch led a few laps before Bowyer mounted a charge and retook the lead on lap 18.

Bowyer led another handful of laps before Tony Stewart passed him again for the lead on lap 22. Bowyer again showed off his strength by passing Stewart for the lead again on lap 32.

He continued to lead before the race was slowed for a caution brought out by Landon Cassill on lap 47.

Cassill ran in the 15th position when Bobby Hamilton Jr. hit him from behind.

All the leaders came down pit road for the first time in the race with Bowyer holding the lead.

Shortly after the race was restarted, Busch passed Bowyer for the lead on lap 55.

The race would stay green for a while until just after the halfway point.

The caution would wave for the third time for a crash by Derrick Cope. This would allow all the leaders to come down pit road with Busch coming out in the lead once again.

Busch led the field down for the restart but would be passed shortly after on lap 111.

David Reutimann was then leader and continued to lead until the fourth and last caution flag of the race would wave for debris on lap 128.

The leaders came down pit road for the final time for service with Carl Edwards coming out as the leader.

Edwards took fuel only on his stop in order to gain the lead with Reutimann dropping out of the top ten under that round of stops.

Edwards led the race for a while until Stewart passed him on with just 65 laps to go. That would prove to be the move of the race, as Stewart would hold the lead from that point on.

Stewart took the checkered flag for the fifth time this season in the Nationwide Series. Stewart was also the 22nd different winner in 22 races at New Hampshire.

Stewart has competed in seven Nationwide Series races this season and has gone on to win 5 of those.

The top ten were Stewart, Denny Hamlin, Busch, Kevin Harvick, Edwards, David Ragan, Reutimann, Mike Bliss, Bowyer, and Brad Keselowski.

Some notable finishes include Jason Keller in 11th, Mike Wallace in 15th, David Stremme in 17th, and Biffle in 19th position.

The top ten in the point standings are Bowyer, Reutimann, Edwards, Brad Keselowski, Ragan, Bliss, Busch, Mike Wallace, Stremme, and Keller.

Next week, the Nationwide Series heads to Daytona for a fourth of July race under the lights.