Josh Cribbs Leads Two Categories as 2010 Pro Bowl Fan Ballot Comes to a Close

Daniel WolfSenior Writer IDecember 23, 2009

DETROIT, MI - NOVEMBER 22: Josh Cribbs #16 of the Cleveland Browns jumps over a defender while running with the football against the Detroit Lions at Ford Field on November 22, 2009 in Detroit, Michigan. The Lions came from behind to defeat the Browns 38-37. (Photo by Joe Robbins/Getty Images)
Joe Robbins/Getty Images

Josh Cribbs of the Cleveland Browns has not only provided a much-needed spark in many of the Browns' game this year, but he is also the team's heart and soul, and easily their most valuable player of the season.

With new President Mike Holmgren at the helm, Cribbs should easily be on the receiving end of a new contract. His two touchdown return performance last weekend against the Kansas City Chiefs made him the sole leader in kick return touchdowns in NFL history.

(Side note: Cribbs won the AFC Special Teams Player of the Week award for week 15 for his performance against the Chiefs. This is the second week in a row that he has won the award.)

Besides a new contract, what would be another great honor to give Cribbs for his wonderful performance this season?

How about leading the Pro Bowl fan balloting in two different categories?

That is correct: With fan polling now closed, Cribbs ended up first in the AFC as the kick returner, with 197,548 votes. He is also first in the AFC as the special teamer, with 168,372 votes.

The fan poll only accounts for one-third of the voting process, but to all others voting, Cribbs will undeniably go to the game as a Pro Bowler for the second time in his career.

He might actually play both positions, which would be a great honor, but he is almost guaranteed to go as the returner, despite the popular vote. Another special team's ace will likely get chosen to play in Miami on Sunday, Jan., 31 at 7:20 pm EST on ESPN.

There was a record 89.87 million votes cast through all of the different voting channels that were accessible.

The official teams will be announced on Dec. 29 on a special edition of NFL Total Access on NFL Network.

The top overall vote receiver in the AFC was Indianapolis Colts quarterback Peyton Manning, with 1,545,642 votes. The top vote receiver in the NFC was New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, with 1,485,397 votes.


(Article also posted on Dawg Scooper)