When it comes to venting on social media, Matt Barnes is usually among the first in line.
He certainly was Tuesday. Shortly after the Los Angeles Clippers' collapse down the stretch in a 105-104 Game 5 loss to the Oklahoma City Thunder, Barnes took to Instagram to question a controversial call that, had it gone the other way, would've likely sealed the deal in L.A.'s favor.
"There's no question this went off my hand last right?#F*€koutahere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!," Barnes wrote alongside the picture below.
With the clock ticking away and the Clippers up by two, Thunder guard Reggie Jackson drove the lane and had the ball batted out of bounds with 11.3 seconds to play.
The referees ruled that it was last touched by Barnes and, after consulting the video-replay monitor, stuck with the original call, even though Jackson appeared to be the last one to make contact with the ball.
As noted by Fox Sports' Danny Savitzky, the officials might've come to the correct conclusion in this case.
Here, in full. pic.twitter.com/b7zauJqz6k— Danny Savitzky (@DannySavitzky) May 14, 2014
Though, judging by crew chief Tony Brothers' explanation, the rule in question didn't seem to factor into their rationale (h/t The Orange County Register's Dan Woike).
No mention of Rule 8 Sec II c in statement from Tony Brothers. pic.twitter.com/QyWZPZXpCS— Dan Woike (@DanWoikeSports) May 14, 2014
Barnes was hardly the only person to question the call after the game.
Clippers coach Doc Rivers practically spent his entire postgame press conference second-guessing the refs' decision—if not berating them outright—and figures to draw a fine from the league as a result.
The Clippers, who now sit in a 3-2 hole in the Western Conference Semifinals, will attempt to stave off playoff elimination Thursday when they return to Staples Center for Game 6 against the Thunder.
Did the refs get it wrong? Share your thoughts on Twitter!