New Hampshire 300 2013 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post-Race Analysis

Ethan Grant@DowntownEGAnalyst IJuly 14, 2013

The yellow flag made several appearances at New Hampshire Motor Speedway on Sunday during the 2013 Camping World RV Sales 301, and it was Brian Vickers who managed to navigate through those multiple cautions to capture the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory. 

Fox Sports: NASCAR had the tweet as Vickers crossed the finish line:

Vickers made it back to victory lane for Michael Waltrip Racing for the first time in 75 races, taking over the lead on Lap 287 and withstanding the green-white-checkered finish to take home the victory in New Hampshire. 

NASCAR's official account had this tweet for the winner as he outlasted a strong field to capture a huge win for driver and crew:

As noted by ESPN's Matt Willis, Vickers had struggled to consistently be toward the top of the final race leaderboards before his win on Sunday:

Vickers pulled away from Tony Stewart around the second turn on the late restart, and Stewart looked to run out of gas before he could give Vickers a run for his money on the final two laps. The winner increased his lead and crossed the line a little more than a half-second faster than Kyle Busch, who finished second. 

Jeff Burton, Brad Keselowski and Aric Almirola rounded out the top five. Jimmie Johnson, who started in the 43rd position, would finish sixth. 


Full 2013 New Hampshire 300 Results


1Brian Vickers
2Kyle Busch
3Jeff Burton
4Brad Keselowski
5Aric Almirola
6Jimmie Johnson
7Kevin Harvick
8Carl Edwards 
9Matt Kenseth
10Jeff Gordon
11Kasey Kahne 
12Jamie McMurray
13Clint Bowyer
14Dale Earnhardt Jr. 
15Greg Biffle 
16Martin Truex Jr. 
17Paul Menard 
18David Gilliland 
19David Ragan 
20David Stremme 
21Denny Hamlin 
22AJ Allmendinger 
23Dave Blaney
24Juan Pablo Montoya
25Joe Nemechek 
26Tony Stewart 
27Bobby Labonte 
28David Reutimann 
29J.J. Yeley 
30Ken Schrader 
31Kurt Busch 
32Landon Cassill 
33Marcos Ambrose 
34Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 
35Josh Wise 
36Casey Mears 
37Danica Patrick 
38Travis Kvapil 
39Ryan Newman 
40Joey Logano 
41Morgan Shepherd 
42Michael McDowell 
43Mike Bliss 

*Visit for results and race times.


We should have known early on that there would be plenty of chances for the field to regroup if a mistake was made.

As noted by NASCAR on ESPN, the drivers had barely been given the green flag to start the race when the yellow flag came out:

Cautions dominated the action for the majority of the early laps, as the drivers had a hard time keeping their cars tight in turns where another car was in close proximity. 

The turns gave the field all kinds of trouble on Sunday, as you can see with this tweet from NASCAR's official account:

Danica Patrick, who finished 37th, was visibly upset when AJ Allmendinger caused her to spin out and lose some valuable ground. As you can see in this tweet from Motor Racing Network, Patrick had some choice words about getting bumped. 

Patrick misread the break coming around a turn later in the race, dinging boyfriend Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Travis Kvapil. NASCAR's account had this tweet with footage of Patrick's miscue.

The cautions allowed those who might have lost a step to regain it when the pace car came out, and that includes Johnson, who worked and weaved his way from dead last to sixth by the end of the race. 

Tony Stewart was the man to beat through the final two-thirds of the race, but it was Vickers who made the most of the caution to get the jump on Stewart at the line. NASCAR Stats had the tweet as Vickers took control:

A late caution threatened to turn the tables back on the late leader, but Vickers navigated his car on the high side during a three-wide trip on the restart and pulled away when Stewart ran out of gas just before he could make a legitimate push at the win. 


Updated 2013 Sprint Cup Standings


Driver and Team



 Jimmy Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports



 Clint Bowyer, Michael Waltrip Racing



 Carl Edwards, Roush Fenway Racing



 Kevin Harvick, Richard Childress Racing



Dale Earnhardt Jr., Hendrick Motorsports 



 Matt Kenseth, Joe Gibbs Racing



 Kyle Busch, Joe Gibbs Racing 



 Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing



 Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing



 Kasey Kahne, Hendrick Motorsports



 Martin Truex Jr., Michael Waltrip Racing



 Jeff Gordon, Hendrick Motorsports


*Complete standings found at


After a one-week hiatus, NASCAR will return to Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the Samuel Deeds 400 at the Brickyard, otherwise known as the Brickyard 400. 

Johnson is a four-time winner of the event and the defending champion, so you can bet all eyes will be on Hendrick Motorsports when the action picks up again in Indiana on July 28. 


Follow B/R's Ethan Grant (@DowntownEG) on Twitter. 


    Goals on Goals: Champions League Final Preview

    Featured logo

    Goals on Goals: Champions League Final Preview

    Sam Tighe
    via Bleacher Report

    Dubs Are Playing Rockets' Game—Not Their Own

    Featured logo

    Dubs Are Playing Rockets' Game—Not Their Own

    Adam Fromal
    via Bleacher Report

    Latest Buzz on NFL's Big-Name Rookies

    Featured logo

    Latest Buzz on NFL's Big-Name Rookies

    Justis Mosqueda
    via Bleacher Report

    NBA Small Forwards Likely to Be Traded in Offseason

    Featured logo

    NBA Small Forwards Likely to Be Traded in Offseason

    Dan Favale
    via Bleacher Report