Indy 500 Qualifying: Anticlimactic Bump Day Is Calm Before Storm for Big Race

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Indy 500 Qualifying: Anticlimactic Bump Day Is Calm Before Storm for Big Race
Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports

The field is set for the 2013 Indianapolis 500 after the final nine cars qualified for the race on Sunday. 

Brian Spurlock-USA TODAY Sports
Jourdain dealing with his disappointment on Sunday.

Bump Day had compelling potential. With nine spots remaining and 10 drivers left in the field, it could have produced a war for that final spot in one of the world's most prestigious races.

Unfortunately, Michel Jourdain Jr.'s car didn't cooperate, and the Mexican racer finally called it quits with 20 minutes still left on the clock. Per Indy Motor Speedway, his pain was Katherine Legge's gain, as she made it in as the final contestant:

All in all, Bump Day was rather boring for fans watching at home and on the track. But don't worry, racing fans, this is just the calm before the storm. 

Here's the official start order for the big race, courtesy of the official website of the Indianapolis 500:

Start Position Driver Car
1 Ed Carpenter 20
2 Carlos Munoz 26
3 Marco Andretti 25
4 EJ Viso 5
5 AJ Allmendinger 2
6 Will Power 12
7 Ryan Hunter-Reay 1
8 Helio Castroneves 3
9 James Hinchcliffe 27
10 JR Hildebrand 4
11 Alex Tagliani 98
12 Tony Kanaan 11
13 Oriol Servia 22
14 Justin Wilson 19
15 Sebastien Bordais 7
16 Scott Dixon 9
17 Dario Franchitti 10
18 Takuma Sato 14
19 Charlie Kimball 83
20 James Jakes 16
21 Simon Pagenaud 77
22 Townsend Bell 60
23 Ryan Briscoe 8
24 Simona De Silvestro 78
25 Josef Newgarden 21
26 Graham Rahal 15
27 Sebastian Saavedra 6
28 Tristan Vautier 55
29 Ana Beatriz 18
30 Pippa Mann 63
31 Conor Daly 41
32 Buddy Lazier 91
33 Katherine Legge 81

Taking a look at this list of names—the top IndyCar racers in the world—it's quite clear the 2013 Indy 500 will be an incredibly competitive race. 

Ed Carpenter shocked the field by capturing the pole. He's only won two events in his career and hasn't finished higher than 14th place in 2013.

Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Lurking below him are IndyCar legends and rising stars Carlos Munoz, Marco Andretti, Will Power, Helio Castroneves and last year's IndyCar champ, Ryan Hunter-Reay.

James Hinchcliffe is the only racer to win twice in 2013, and he'll surely put up a good fight from the No. 9 spot, while Japanese sensation Takuma Sato will start in the middle of the pack. 

Last year's Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti will come charging hard from the middle of the field, too. 

Will the 2013 Indy 500 be won by one of the hot racers in IndyCar, or will someone sneak in from behind?

Submit Vote vote to see results

From top to bottom, this grid is full of racers capable of winning the big event.

So, while the action on Bump Day may not have titillated your senses the way you hoped, the Indy 500 next Sunday will certainly give you what you desire. 

The action will be intense from the first lap until the bitter end, and as we know from experience, anything can happen on the track when the drivers start pushing their cars and their senses to the limit.

Follow me on Twitter @JesseReed78 

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM