Grand Prix of Baltimore 2012 Results: Reaction, Leaders and Post Race Analysis

Richard LangfordCorrespondent ISeptember 2, 2012

BALTIMORE, MD - SEPTEMBER 01:  Ryan Hunter-Reay drives the #28 Team DHL/Sun Drop Citrus Soda Chevrolet during practice for the IZOD IndyCar Series Baltimore Grand Prix on September 1, 2012 in Baltimore, Maryland.  (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)
Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

Ryan Hunter-Reay took the checkered at the IRL Grand Prix of Baltimore with a late pass of Ryan Briscoe.

This was a huge win for Hunter-Reay as it moved him to within 17 points of series leader Will Power with just one race remaining. 

Hunter-Reay was strong all day, but he wasn't the only driver running well. Briscoe had a strong car, Simon Pagenaud also led his share of laps and so did Power. 

For Power, the finish has to be especially painful.

He blew an excellent shot at glory in this race. He entered as the pole sitter and defending champion. Had he been able to repeat that performance, he had an excellent shot at leaving with more than a 54-point lead in the overall standings, which would have locked up the championship for Power. 

By losing ground and seeing his lead shrink, Power now has to be getting an ominous Déjà vu. In each of the last two seasons, Power has had the points lead late in the season, but he was not able to capture the championship. 

This was an exciting finish to a race that was slowed by nine cautions and rain. Those delays were terrible news for the IRL. They desperately needed a first-rate event. The IRL continues to suffer through evaporating popularity.

The Baltimore Sun highlights that with this tweet:   

Smaller crowds, cloudy weather greets Grand Prix spectators; Race On refuses to reveal number of tickets sold.

— The Baltimore Sun (@baltimoresun) September 2, 2012

The other thing hanging over this race's head is a bit of controversy about the end. Both Power and Briscoe felt that Hunter-Reay got off too quickly on a late-race restart, but officials did not agree. 

So Hunter-Reay leaves with the victory, and a renewed hope at capturing the championship. 


Final Standings

Check out the final standings here

Pos. Driver
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay
 2. Ryan Briscoe
 3. Simon Pagenaud 
 4. Scott Dixon 
 5. Rubens Barrichello 
 6. Will Power 
 7. Oriol Servia 
 8. Alex Tagliani 
 9. E.J. Viso 
 10. Helio Castroneves