Indy 500 2012 Results: Marco Andretti and Sunday's Biggest Losers

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Indy 500 2012 Results: Marco Andretti and Sunday's Biggest Losers
Chris Trotman/Getty Images

With another classic edition of the Indianapolis 500 in the books, it’s time to examine the results and find out who Sunday’s biggest losers were.

As much as a star like Will Power has hurt his stock finishing in 28th, there are much bigger losers coming out of the 2012 Indy 500.

All of the following racers came into this race with high hopes but ended up finishing in a disappointing position.

Nick Laham/Getty Images

Marco Andretti

There was no driver on the track Sunday that had more weight on their shoulders than Marco Andretti.

While the Andretti curse may or may not be real, the fact that the last family member to win the 500 was Mario Andretti in 1969 shows there could be some validity.

After dominating the first half of the race, Andretti started to feel a vibration before losing control and crashing his car. The Andretti curse?

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

JR Hildebrand

After coming within a half a lap of winning the 2011 version of the Indy 500, many experts and fans had JR Hildebrand pegged as a contender for the victory this season.

While there are positives to build from this run, there is no doubt anyone involved with that team thought Hildebrand should have finished better than 14th. Add Sunday’s struggles to the future motivation pile.

Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Josef Newgarden

No young driver came into this race with higher expectations than Josef Newgarden.

While there is no doubt that the kid has talent, it takes a long time and the perfect scenario to win at the tough Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

As bad as the 22nd place finish looks on paper, the lessons that the young driver learned this Memorial Day weekend will help catapult him into IndyCar stardom.

Did the Indy 500 Live Up to the Hype?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Full 2012 Indy 500 Results

1. Dario Franchitti

2. Scott Dixon

3. Tony Kanaan

4. Oriol Servia

5. Ryan Briscoe

6. James Hinchcliffe

7. Justin Wilson

8. Charlie Kimball

9. Townsend Bell

10. Helio Castroneves

11. Rubens Barrichello

12. Alex Tagliani

13. Graham Rahal

14. JR Hildebrand

15. James Jakes

16. Simon Pagenaud

17. Takuma Sato

18. E.J. Viso

19. Michel Jourdain Jr.

20. Sebastien Bourdais

21. Ed Carpenter

22. Katherine Legge

23. Ana Beatriz

24. Marco Andretti

25. Josef Newgarden

26. Sebastian Saavedra

27. Ryan Hunter-Reay

28. Will Power

29. Mike Conway

30. Bryan Clauson     

31. Wade Cunningham

32. Simona De Silvestro

33. Jean Alesi

Follow B/R on Facebook