Indy 500 Start Time: When and Where to Catch Sunday's Action

Jesse ReedCorrespondent IMay 27, 2012

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - MAY 29:  Dan Wheldon of England, driver of the #98 William Rast-Curb/Big Machine Dallara Honda, races during the IZOD IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 Mile Race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on May 29, 2011 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images)
Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

The 96th Indy 500 will start later today, and the competition will be fierce as the 33 top IndyCar racers in the world will attempt to win this prestigious race.

The race is being held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis—right in the heartland of America.

Here is the schedule of events—all times Eastern— according to

  • 7 a.m. - Snake Pit Opens
  • 8:30 a.m. - Parade of Bands
  • 9:25 a.m. - Cars Begin to Enter Pit Lane
  • 9:30 a.m. - 500 Festival Princesses Lap
  • 9:55 a.m. - All Cars to Pit Lane
  • 10:15 a.m. - Cars Begin to Grid on Track
  • 10:40 a.m. - All Cars in Place on Grid
  • 10:50 a.m. - Engine Warmup
  • 11 a.m. - Vintage Car Lap
  • 11 a.m. - Indianapolis 500 Pre-Race Begins
  • 11:10 a.m. - Military Tribute Lap
  • 11:30 a.m. - Driver Introductions
  • Noon - 96th Running of the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race


Top Contenders

SAO PAULO, BRAZIL - APRIL 29:  Will Power of Australia, drives the #12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet during the Sao Paulo Indy 300 with members of his pit crew on April 29, 2012 in Sao Paulo, Brazil.  (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)
Nick Laham/Getty Images

Ryan Briscoe is the pole-sitter, winning that honor by a record-setting margin over James Hinchcliffe, according to He has had success in the past on the IZOD IndyCar Series, but it's been nearly two full years since his last victory.

Will Power enters the race on a three-race winning streak, and the way he's been driving lately it's hard to see anyone overtaking him today. That's why they race, though, because anything can happen out on the track.

Helio Castroneves, a three-time winner of this event, will attempt to become only the fourth man in history to win the Indy 500 four times. He is a tremendous racer and is always a threat to win.

Ryan Hunter-Reay is the man who will challenge Power the most. He's come close to winning already this year, posting two podium finishes in 2012.

This race is going to be an all-out battle the entire way. I can't wait for the engines to start roaring.