Indy 500 Lineup: Expect Penske Racing to Continue Dominant 2012 in Indianapolis

Timothy RappFeatured ColumnistMay 24, 2012

SAO PAULO, BRAZIL - APRIL 29:  (Left to right) Takuma Sato of Japan driver of the #Letterman Laningan Racing Dallara Honda,  Ryan Hunter-Reay driver of the #28 Andretti Autosport Dallara Chevrolet and Will Power of Australia driver of the #12 Team Penske Dallara Chevrolet try to open the champagne bottles after finishing respectively third, second and first during the IndyCar Series Sao Paulo indy 300 on April 29, 2012 in the streets of Sao Paulo in Sao Paulo, Brazil.  (Photo by Robert Laberge/Getty Images)
Robert Laberge/Getty Images

It's hard to predict which Penske Racing driver will win the Indianapolis 500. But given the year the team has already had in 2012, it's a safe bet that one of their drivers will be drinking milk on Sunday.

For one, the team has won each race thus far in 2012, a clean 4-0. And they've also won the pole for the fifth time this year, with Ryan Briscoe leading the pack.

But Briscoe may not be the most dangerous Penske rider in the field. Helio Castroneves already won the Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg this year alongside third- and fourth-place finishes. Oh yeah, and he's a three-time Indy 500 winner.

Let's not forget about that.

Nor should we forget that Will Power—who probably has the best name in racing and should consider being a motivational speaker with a moniker like that after his racing days are over—has been on fire in 2012, with three wins and two poles.

With both Castroneves and Power sitting in the second row, it's hard to imagine that one of these three Penske riders won't take home the win in Indianapolis.

Sure, nothing is guaranteed. James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Hunter-Reay are serious contenders from the front row, as is Marco Andretti lurking in row two.

Dario Franchitti has won twice, and has led the race for 306 laps in his career.

JR Hildebrand was a tragic, last-turn wreck away from taking the race last season, truly a choke for the ages (though it did clear the way for Dan Wheldon to win, whose memory will be honored this weekend).

And Scott Dixon (293) and Tony Kanaan shouldn't be ignored.

But still, I can't shake the premonition that Sunday will be another winning day for the Penske Racing team.

You pick the driver; I'll just stick to my pick of the team.


Hit me up on Twitter—my tweets will gladly have another as well.

Follow TRappaRT on Twitter