2011 Rugby World Cup Predictions

Aidan MackieSenior Analyst IAugust 22, 2011

2011 Rugby World Cup Predictions

0 of 7

    The 2011 Rugby World Cup is finally upon us. Fans across the world have been waiting for this moment since South Africa lifted up the cup in celebration of their victory over England in 2007.

    The sports phenomenon is scheduled to begin on September 10, with the final game being played on the October 23.

    The massive event will be hosted by New Zealand, and the home All Black are considered perennial favorites to take home their first World Cup since 1987.  Among other teams who are considered front runners are Australia, South Africa, England, Ireland, France, Argentina, Wales and Scotland.

    Here are my predictions for the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

Pool A: New Zealand Will Dominate

1 of 7

    Pool A of the 2011 Rugby World Cup will feature host New Zealand, Japan, Tonga, France and Canada. New Zealand should dominate the pool, as they should proceed with big wins over Tonga, Japan and Canada.

    France are a rugby powerhouse and they should give the All Blacks trouble.  But eventually Richie McCaw and co. will come out on top. The French will crush the rest of the pool to claim a quarterfinal spot while Japan, Tonga and Canada will be eliminated.


    Pool A Standings

    New Zealand 4-0

    France 3-1

    Japan 1-3

    Canada 1-3

    Tonga 1-3

Pool B: Argentina, England and Scotland Fight for Two Spots

2 of 7

    Pool B will be one of the most entertaining group of nations, as powerhouses Argentina, Scotland and England will all compete for two quarterfinal spots along with Romania and Georgia.

    The latter two will be crushed by the other 3 front runners while England will edge both Argentina and Scotland to claim the top spot in the pool. In a colossal match on the September 25, Argentina will beat Scotland in a tough and hard hitting affair, to claim a quarterfinal spot.


    Pool B Standings

    England 4-0

    Argentina 3-1

    Scotland 2-2

    Romania 1-3

    Georgia 0-4

Pool C: A Wallabies Show

3 of 7

    Another highly entertaining group stage will be Pool C,as the No. 2 ranked team in the world, Australia, will headline a group that includes Ireland, Italy, USA and Russia.

    The Wallabies should be highly prepared and extremely dominant as they dismantle USA, Russia and Italy, while edging Ireland to go undefeated in the group stage. Ireland should easily claim the second spot in the quarterfinals as they possess more talent than any other team remaining in the pool.


    Pool C Standings

    Australia 4-0

    Ireland 3-1

    Italy 2-2

    USA 1-3

    Russia 0-4 

Pool D: Springboks and Fiji/Samoa/Wales Claim Quarterfinal Spots

4 of 7

    Pool D of the 2011 Rugby World Cup will be the most entertaining and intense of all the groups, as elite nation South Africa will fight for one of two quarterfinal spots along with Wales, Samoa, Fiji and Namibia.

    The Springboks will dismantle the majority of the pool, but will be shocked by Wales to avoid going undefeated in the pool. Wales will also experience struggles in the group stage as they will be shocked by Fiji.

    Samoa will beat Fiji and Namibia, but lose big to both South Africa and Wales. Eventually, a great pool ends with South Africa and Wales claiming the final two quarterfinal spots.


    Pool D Standings

    South Africa 3-1

    Wales 3-1

    Samoa 2-2

    Fiji 2-2

    Namibia 0-4

Quarterfinals: The Powerhouses Advance

5 of 7

    The quarterfinals of the World Cup will kick off on October 8 in Wellington, pitting Australia against Wales.  The Wallabies will struggle, but eventually come out on top in a tight affair.

    The second game of the evening will be perhaps the most entertaining of the entire event, as Pool A runner-up France meets Pool B winner, England. The score will be extremely close throughout the entire match with great defense played by both nations. Eventually a late try for France gives them the victory and sends them to their second straight semi-finals.

    The next night, the Springboks will play Ireland. The Irish will give it their all, but the superb talent of South Africa will be too much to overcome. The final quarterfinals game will feature World No.1 and host New Zealand against Argentina. The All Black will completely dominate the Pumas, and claim the final spot in the semi-finals.


    Australia def. Wales 15-12

    France def. England 27-22

    South Africa def. Ireland 22-6

    New Zealand def. Argentina 29-11

Semi-Finals: Wallabies and All Blacks Claim Spots in Final

6 of 7

    The semi-finals of the 2011 Rugby World Cup will feature France vs Australia and South Africa vs New Zealand. In the latter match, the All Blacks will play a grueling contest with the Springboks.

    The teams will trade leads all game until eventually, flyhalf Dan Carter wins the game for the All Blacks with a beautiful penalty kick.

    Australia meets France in the other semifinal, and despite a quick start from the French, the Wallabies bounce back, proving they are one of the best teams in rugby.Australia dominates the rest of the match and claims a spot in the World Cup Finals.


    New Zealand defeats South Africa 22-19

    Australia defeats France 19-10

Finals: All Blacks Win Second World Cup

7 of 7

    The 2011 Rugby World Cup Final will be one of the best matches ever played, as rugby's two biggest rivals and the top two teams in the world meet in a colossal game to decide rugby's best nation.

    The scoring will be minimum in this grueling affair, with only two tries being scored in the game. Despite the Wallabies outplaying New Zealand, the All Blacks score both those tries on big plays from their stars. New Zealand will win their second World Cup, tying them with the Wallabies and the Springboks for the most all time.


    New Zealand defeats Australia 15-12