BCS Bowl Predictions: If the Season Ended After Week Eight

Dan BossAnalyst IOctober 22, 2008

Texas has solidified its number one ranking by beating Missouri.  Alabama stayed right behind them with a win as well.  There are still several teams in the hunt for a BCS berth, especially after the homestretch drama last season.

This article lists the BCS teams and bowl matchups if the season ended today.  It is based on the BCS rankings and the bowl selection process.  There are some changes from last week.


BCS Top 25

3.Penn State
6.Oklahoma State
8.Texas Tech
9.Ohio State
12.Boise State
16.South Florida
18.Georgia Tech
20.Ball State
21.Brigham Young
25.Florida State


BCS Bowl Picture

1.BCS National Championship selects No. 1 Texas and No. 2 Alabama.
2.Orange Bowl selects ACC conference champion Georgia Tech as tie-in.
3.Rose Bowl selects Pac-10 conference champion USC as tie-in.
4.Rose Bowl selects Big Ten conference champion Penn State as tie-in.
5.Fiesta Bowl selects Oklahoma to keep Big 12 conference tie-in after losing conference champion Texas to the national championship game.
6.Sugar Bowl selects Georgia to keep SEC conference tie-in after losing conference champion Alabama to the national championship game.
7.Fiesta Bowl selects Ohio State with first pick in bowl rotation. Only other available teams are South Florida and Utah.
8.Sugar Bowl selects Big East conference champion South Florida with second pick in bowl rotation.  Only other available team left is Utah.
9.Orange Bowl selects auto-bid Utah with third and final pick in bowl rotation. Obligation to choose team because they were an auto-bid by being ranked ahead of a conference champion (Georgia Tech and South Florida).


Bowl Matchups

BCS National Championship

Texas vs. Alabama


Fiesta Bowl

Oklahoma vs. Ohio State


Sugar Bowl

Georgia vs. South Florida


Orange Bowl

Georgia Tech vs. Utah


Rose Bowl

USC vs. Penn State


BCS Teams by Conference

ACC: 1

Georgia Tech (Conference Champion)


Big East: 1

South Florida (Conference Champion)


Big Ten: 2

Penn State (Conference Champion)

Ohio State (At-Large)


Big 12: 2

Texas (Conference Champion)

Oklahoma (At-Large)


Pac-10: 1

USC (Conference Champion)


SEC: 2

Alabama (Conference Champion)

Georgia (At-Large)


Non-BCS: 1

Utah (Auto-Bid)