The PSL: South Africa's Football League

sam naikContributor IOctober 8, 2008

So I thought about writing an article about the football league in my country, to inform those who have never heard about the PSL. Our top teams take part in what they call the African Champions league, where all the top clubs in Africa compete, it is just like the Champions League, however the football standard is not as great as it is in Europe.

Here is a little history on South Africas soccer league, the PSL (Premier Soccer League):

The Premier Soccer League (PSL) is the trading name of the National Soccer League (NSL). It is an Affiliate Member of the South African Football Association (SAFA) and the administrator of professional football in the Republic of South Africa.

The PSL was established in 1996.

Manning Rangers were the first side to be crowned champions of the PSL in 1997 when the Gordon Igesund-coached side stunned all and sundry by winning the title ahead of a number of more fancied opponents.

From 1998 to 2000 the league was dominated by Mamelodi Sundowns, who pulled off a hat-trick of titles.

In 2001, Igesund moved to Orlando Pirates and helped the "Buccaneers" secure the title. The following season he moved to Cape Town-based Santos, and steered it to win the league title, thus becoming the first coach to win the championship with three different clubs. He then won it again with Mamelodi Sundowns in the 2007-08 season.

The league was reduced from 18 to 16 teams after the end of the 2001-02 season to avoid fixture congestion, causing two teams, Ria Stars and Free State Stars, to be disbanded.

Kaizer Chiefs successfully defended their league title in 2005 after they won the prestigious trophy in 2004 for the first time in a decade.

The 2005-06 season saw Mamelodi Sundowns capturing the title for the fourth time.

The PSL has helped raise the standard of club soccer in South Africa, providing the sport with better media coverage and much-improved revenue through strong sponsorship deals. Sponsors include renowned brands like Nedbank, Telkom, Absa, and official suppliers are Castle, Coca-Cola, and Vodacom.

It has also provided a platform for local players to make their mark and catch the eye of overseas clubs. Norwegian Kjetil Siem is the League's Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

Players such as Steven Pienaar, who currently plays his football with Everton, started his career in the PSL, as well as Aaron Mokoena and Benni McCarthy—the latter now plays for Blackburn Rovers. 


Founder Members
Bloemfontein Celtic
Cape Town Spurs
Jomo Cosmos
Kaizer Chiefs
Manning Rangers
Michau Warriors
Moroka Swallows
Orlando Pirates
QwaQwa Stars
Real Rovers
Mamelodi Sundowns
Supersport United
Umtata Bush Bucks
Vaal Professionals
Witbank Aces
Wits University