Buckeye Reaction: Big Ten Conference Unveils New Logo, Division Names

HD Handshoe - BlockONation.comAnalyst IDecember 13, 2010

The Big Ten unveiled its new logo today that will go into effect next season, when Nebraska moves in from the Big 12.

Notice how easily that new logo can change from B1G Ten to B16 Ten, leaving the door open for future expansion without another major logo overhaul?

The new divisions will be called Legends and Leaders.

Legends Division

Michigan, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern

Leaders Division

Ohio State, Penn State, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Purdue

Trophy Names

The Stagg-Paterno Trophy will go to the Big Ten title game winner.

The Grange-Griffin Trophy will go to the title game MVP.

There are 18 new trophies total, and you can view all of them over on the Big Ten Network's website.

So, what does everyone else think?

The trophy names are actually pretty cool, and the logo is OK, but I'm not sure the division names are great...

Then again, I do like that they didn't just cop out and call them East-West, or North-South. Not to mention, that would make no sense geographically had they done that.

However, if they truly wanted the division names to reflect on the history of the conference and the teams of yesteryear, along with the future of the conference and going forward, then the LEGENDS Division should have been Michigan, Nebraska, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, and Purdue, and the LEADERS Division should have been Ohio State, Wisconsin, Michigan State, Iowa, Penn State, and Northwestern.



For more Ohio State Buckeyes football, check out:

Block-O-Nation ::: Ohio State Football Lives Here™ 

Also follow BlockONation on  Twitter and become a fan on Facebook.