All-Time College Football Team Composed of Active College Coaches

MB MBSenior Analyst IAugust 18, 2008

The list below is a football team comprised of all active FBS (formerly Division I-A) coaches.  The school next to the coach’s name is the school where he currently coaches.  The school below is the school where he played.

QB: Steve Spurrier (South Carolina)

Florida (1963-1966): The Gator quarterback was one of the best in college football.  He was the 1966 Heisman Trophy winner.

RB: Dan Hawkins (Colorado)

UC Davis (1978-1982): Played fullback for the Aggies but had no speed.  No, the real reason he is starting at RB for this team is that no college coach was a running back. PLEASE Lawrence Phillips, take over a program.

FB: Jeff Jagodzinski (Boston College)

University of Wisconsin–Whitewater (1981-1984): Was a three-year starter at fullback for the WarHawks.

WR: Tyrone Willingham (Washington)

Michigan State (1975-1977): The former Spartan played both quarterback and wide receiver.

WR: Mike Bellotti (Oregon)

UC Davis (1970-1973): Never thought I would have two guys from UC Davis on the team, but Bellotti edged Clemson's Tommy Bowden.  Bowden was a walk-on, while Bellotti was an all-conference receiver in his senior year.

TE: Tim Brewster (Minnesota)

Illinois (1981-1984): Was a two-time all-Big Ten tight end and captain of the 1984 Rose Bowl team.

Tackle: Dave Wannstedt (Pittsburgh)

Pittsburgh (1971-1973): Was a strong blocker for the Panthers and blocked for Heisman Trophy winner Tony Dorsett.

Guard: Ralph Friedgen (Maryland)

Maryland (1962, 1968): "The Fridge" was a force on the line.  He could pull with the best of them.

Center: Sylvester Croom (Mississippi State)

Alabama (1972-1974): Won three SEC championships and a national championship in 1973 while playing for Bear Bryant.  In his senior year, he earned the Jacobs Blocking Trophy and was an All-American.

Guard: Phillip Fulmer (Tennessee)

Tennessee (1968-1971): Was a guard for the 1969 SEC champion team and on the 1970 11-1 Sugar Bowl team.

Tackle: Slan Brock (Army)

Colorado (1976-1979): He was an All-American for the Buffaloes in 1979 as well as team MVP.

Defensive End: Tom O’Brien (NC State)

United States Naval Academy (1968-1970): Was a three-year starter for the Midshipmen.  Plus, if any receiver catches a deep pass against this defense, it’s all good because O’Brien could go Mark Walberg and shoot him—he was a sniper in the Navy.

Defensive Tackle: Bret Bielema (Wisconsin)

Iowa (1989-1992): Played four years as nose guard for the Hawkeyes.  Even though he is the Badger head coach, he still stays true to his alma mater with a Hawkeye tattoo on his calf.

Defensive End: Al Groh (Virginia)

Virginia (1963-1965): Not only was a solid defensive end for the Cavaliers, but he was also a very good lacrosse player.

Linebacker: Randy Shannon (Miami)

Miami (1985-1988): Played outside backer for the Hurricanes. Was a starter on the 1987 National Championship team.

Linebacker: Greg Schiano (Rutgers)

Bucknell (1985-1988): A three-year starter, he led the team in tackles in his junior year with 114 and was a team captain and preseason All-American going into his senior season.

Linebacker: Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern)

Northwestern (1993-1996): Two-time Big Ten defensive player of the year, he led the Wildcats to the 1995 Rose Bowl.  He won the Bronko Nagurski Trophy and the Chuck Bednarik Award in 1995 and 1996, becoming the first two-time winner of both honors.

Linebacker: Gene Chizik (Iowa State)

Florida (1981): Was a linebacker on the 1981 Peach Bowl team.

CB: Mark Dantonio (Michigan State)

South Carolina (1976-1978): Played cornerback for the Gamecocks for three seasons.

CB: Bob Stoops (Oklahoma)

Iowa (1979-1982): Four-year starter for the Hawkeyes who was All-Big Ten, and in 1982 was co-Big Ten Player of The Year.

SS: Mike Stoops (Arizona)

Iowa (1982-1984): Have to add the younger Stoops to the secondary.  He was a two-time All-Big Ten safety for the Hawkeyes.

FS: Bo Pelini (Nebraska)

The Ohio State (1987-1990): Pelini, who went to the same high school as the Stoops brothers, was a two-year starter at free safety for the Buckeyes.  He was co-captain his senior year.

The Coaching Staff is made up of the four active coaches who never played college football.

Head Coach: Charlie Weis (Notre Dame)

Attended school at Notre Dame.

Offensive Coordinator: Mike Leach (Texas Tech)

Attended school at BYU.

Defensive Coordinator: Mark Mangino (Kansas)

Attended school at Youngstown St.

Special Teams: Paul Johnson (Georgia Tech)

Attended school at Western Carolina.


    Former Duck Fotu Leiato Killed in Car Accident

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Former Duck Fotu Leiato Killed in Car Accident

    Kyle Newport
    via Bleacher Report

    Cuse QB: Beating Cancer 'Felt Like Beating Clemson'

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Cuse QB: Beating Cancer 'Felt Like Beating Clemson'

    Bama QB Commit Taulia Tagovailoa Visiting Tennessee 👀

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Bama QB Commit Taulia Tagovailoa Visiting Tennessee 👀

    Maryland Athletic Department to Probe McNair's Death

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Maryland Athletic Department to Probe McNair's Death

    Timothy Rapp
    via Bleacher Report