Will Power Wins Peak Pole At Watkins Glen

Dustin H.Correspondent IApril 3, 2017

Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Will Power and Team Penske put the #12 Verizon car on the pole for the Camping World Grand Prix at Watkins Glen which will be on ABC Sunday at 3:30pm. Ryan Briscoe topped Friday practice and a second practice session. Helio Castroneves will start second with Ryan Briscoe in third as the Penske trio has dominated all on track activity so far this weekend in Watkins Glen. Will Power already has wins 5 poles with the pole at Watkins Glen and scored wins at Sao Paulo and St Pete.

Will Power set the fastest lap at a 1:29.3164 at 135.832 to get the pole on the 11 turn 3.4 mile road course at Watkins Glen. Will Power is the points leader and is a serious contender for the championship this season as he has been good on the road and street circuits but also the ovals. With only 9 races to go in the 2010 season, it will be interesting to see if Power can hold off Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti and his teammates Helio Castroneves and Ryan Briscoe.

Camping World Grand Prix Of Watkins Glen Starting Lineup From Watkins Glen.

  1. Will Power
  2. Helio Castroneves
  3. Ryan Briscoe
  4. Dario Franchitti
  5. Takuma Sato
  6. Justin Wilson
  7. Scott Dixon
  8. Marco Andretti
  9. Mario Moraes
  10. Adam Carroll
  11. Rapahel Matos
  12. Paul Tracy

Iowa winner Tony Kanaan qualified in 13th with Danica Patrick in 21st coming off her return to the Nationwide Series last week at New Hampshire. The July 4th Classic for the IZOD IndyCar Series at Watkins Glen will be on ABC Sunday at 3:30pm ET.