Scott Pruett Wins Brumos Porsche 250, Andy Lally Wins GT at Daytona

Dustin H.Correspondent IJuly 3, 2010

DAYTONA BEACH, FL - JULY 03:  Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas drive the #01 Chip Ganassi Racing BMW to win the Grand-Am Brumos Porsche 250 at Daytona International Speedway on July 3, 2010 in Daytona Beach, Florida.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas took home the win in the Brumos Porsche 250 at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday.

This was the sixth win for the 01 Telmex Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates BMW Riley of 2010, and the 100th race for the Daytona Prototypes dating back to 2003.

The win came only days after a penalty from post-race inspection at Mid-Ohio two weeks ago. The team was penalized points and fined.

They only had a seven-point lead coming into Daytona, but they extended that to 13 points over Ryan Dalziel.

Andy Lally , with RJ Valentine , took the No. 66 TRG Porsche GT3 to victory lane again for the third time in 2010 in the GT Class, after a late race battle with Joey Hand in the Turner Motorsports BMW.

Hand ran out of fuel in the closing laps and Lally scored the victory and is second in the points, only nine behind Jeff Segal and Emil Assentato.

A tough day in Daytona for several drivers—Mark Wilkins and Memo Rojas made contact in pit lane and Wilkins suffered damage to the No. 61 Pacific Mobile Ford Riley.

He would then hit Rojas again on the track, causing damage to the radiator and front of his Ford, taking away their chances at a win.

Ricky Taylor, in the Suntrust Ford, started from the pole but got together with the No. 99 Gainsco Chevrolet of Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty and hit the wall, ending their day.

Buddy Rice was the leader in the late stages and on a restart got into the grass, lost control, and spun.

The Grand AM Sports Car Series heads off to New Jersey in two weeks at Thunderbolt Raceway.