2010 World Series Prediction: Yankees VS Braves

Jason KimCorrespondent IMarch 7, 2010

TAMPA, FL - MARCH 3: Manager Joe Girardi #28 of the New York Yankees carries the World Series trophy before play against the Pittsburgh Pirates on March 3, 2010 at the George M. Steinbrenner  Field in Tampa, Florida. (Photo by Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images)
Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

My prediction for the World Series? Yankees and the Braves. 

AL Champions: New York Yankees

They might have lost Matsui, but they replaced him with .400 OBP DH hitter Nick Johnson, who will provide run scoring opportunities for the 3-4-5 hitters. Damon was replaced by Winn and Gardner. They both have different abilities, but if they share time, it's be fine. Javier Vasquez was an improvement and if you have him as your #4 starter, you know your rotation's good. Other than that, there were no changes, and the Yanks will have a chance to repeat.


NL Champions: Atlanta Braves

This year will be legendary manager Bobby Cox's last year. This year, he wants a world championship, a great way to end a career. The players know it, too and will not give up. Even though they lost Vasquez, they still have a healthy Hudson, Lowe, Hanson and Jurrjens. Along with the rotation, they have a strong pen led by Billy Wagner. He still has his stuff, so don't be afraid if he can still close or not. Saito is underrated because of the fact that he was injured last season, but can be effective when healthy. Everyone seems to forget about Nate McClouth, too. He was injured part time last year, but can produce All-Star numbers. Escobar is clutch in RBI situations, and Glaus: well, you know him: he can hit 30HRs when healthy. These talented players will be led by Chipper Jones. Don't forget about Melky (Cabrera) too, because he can be one hot player.


WINNER: Atlanta Braves in 7 games

AL East Winner: Boston Red Sox 

AL Central Winner: Minnesota Twins

AL West Winner: Seattle Mariners

AL Wild Card Winner: New York Yankees

NL East winner: Philadelphia Phillies

NL Central Winner: St. Louis Cardinals  

NL West Winner: San Francisco Giants

NL Wild Card Winner: Atlanta Braves

If you want to know why it was these 8 teams that I chose, comment below and I will break it sown for you.