Alabama Beats Texas To Win First Ever BCS National Title

BabyTateSenior Writer IJanuary 8, 2010

PASADENA, CA - JANUARY 07:  Head coach Nick Saban and the Alabama Crimson Tide celebrate with the BCS Championship trophy after winning the Citi BCS National Championship game over the Texas Longhorns at the Rose Bowl on January 7, 2010 in Pasadena, California. The Crimson Tide defeated the Longhorns 37-21.  (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)
Harry How/Getty Images

Congratulations to the Alabama Crimson Tide who won their first ever BCS National Championship by defeating Texas, 37-21.

The team from Tuscaloosa easily disposed of the Longhorns, who were left struggling after going down by 18 points at halftime.

Except for a short period in the second half, the game was never in doubt once the Red Elephants erased a 6-0 Texas lead.

The 16 point win allows the Tide to join Tennessee, LSU, and Florida as SEC schools who have achieved the gold standard of becoming a BCS Champion.

Alabama and Tennessee have captured one national title apiece while Florida and LSU have each won two national titles in the Bowl Championship Series.

Begun in the 1998 season season, the Southeastern Conference leads the way with six titles all together.

Florida State of the ACC captured the 1999 award and the league has claim to the 2001 championship of Miami. The Hurricanes were members of the Big East when they won their title, but have since left for the Atlantic Coast Conference.

While the Big 12 owns two titles with Texas in 2005 and Oklahoma in 2000, the Pac-10 has the single championship of Southern California in 2004.

The Southeastern Conference has now taken the past four BCS Titles in a row. Due to the eclectic manner fans judge such areas of competition, there will be little doubt in the nation concerning the superiority of the SEC over any other league.

Going simply by the number of National Championships under the BCS Series, the ranking of conferences is revealed as follows:

1. The Southeastern Conference: Six– 1998, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008, and 2009

2.  (Tie) The Big 12 Conference: Two– 2000 and 2005

    The Atlantic Coast Conference: Two– 1999 and 2001 *(See Note below)

4. (Tie) The Big 10 Conference: One– 2002

    The Pac-10 Conference: One– 2004

6. The Big East Conference: None

*(Note: Miami was actually a member of the Big East Conference in 2001)

So, the final play has been run, the final pass thrown, and the 2009 college football season is history. Only time will tell if it is a harbinger of things to come or the crest of a wave of change among the elite in the world of the Bowl Championship Series.


    UNC Lands Former 4-Star RB Williams

    College Football logo
    College Football

    UNC Lands Former 4-Star RB Williams

    Rob Goldberg
    via Bleacher Report

    Pruitt Grades Vols' Spring Game 'D'

    College Football logo
    College Football

    Pruitt Grades Vols' Spring Game 'D'

    Chris Low

    Fortune: How Saban Keeps Bama Football Rolling

    Alabama Crimson Tide Football logo
    Alabama Crimson Tide Football

    Fortune: How Saban Keeps Bama Football Rolling

    via Fortune