NASCAR Nationwide Series at Watkins Glen 2014: Live Leaderboard Updates

Michael GuadalupeFeatured ColumnistAugust 9, 2014

WATKINS GLEN, NY - AUGUST 09:  Marcos Ambrose, driver of the
Mark Wilson/Getty Images

Marcos Ambrose wins the Zippo 200 as Sprint Cup drivers dominated the Nationwide race at Watkins Glen.

Brad Keselowski, Marcos Ambrose, Joey Logano and Kyle Busch took off from the rest of the drivers within the first 10 laps of the Zippo 200. Ambrose and Busch would make contact and spin, but were able to recover.

Keselowski and Logano were the two dominant cars for the first half and this Nationwide Series race looked more like a preview of what we will see on Sunday for the Cheez-It 355.

Chase Elliot had to deal with a penalty after the first pit stop because his crew came over the wall too early. He was able to recover and by the halfway point of the race he was in the top 10.

Elliot had no more for error though as Regan Smith was right behind him.

As the race continued Marcos Ambrose had made his way to the front and was able to hold his lead on restarts but had other Sprint Cup drivers like Joey Logano pressuring him.

As the Sprint Cup drivers were battling to lead, Chase Elliot got a lucky break in his battle with Regan Smith.

When Smith went to pit around Lap 54, he had to go back around and pit again because of a loose lug. The two drivers had been right next to each other on the track, but this gave Elliot breathing room.

Smith was able to catch a break when a caution came out, and with 20 laps to go he was back in the top 15. Unfortunately he couldn't hold it, and with Chase Elliot in the top 10, Smith slipped back to 21st after having to pit because of grass getting stuck on his front grille.

With 10 laps to go Marcos Ambrose stayed out in front and started to build space between himself and Joey Logano.

Kyle Busch emerged with five laps to go and passed Joey Logano for second. As the race started to come to an end, Busch was able to make ground on the 9 car but didn't have enough time to pass him.


Marcos Ambrose went on to win for the fourth time at Watkins Glen in the Nationwide Series!